

University of Massachusetts Lowell
Office of the Faculty Senate
Alumni Hall, Room 101, One University Avenue
Lowell, Massachusetts 01854
Telephone: 978-934-3413

E-mail: Faculty Senate@uml.edu

Faculty Senate President: Michael J. Carter Telephone: 978-934-2794

E-mail: Michael Carter@uml.edu

Faculty Senate Administrator: Martha H. Burns Telephone: 978-934-4909 E-mail: Martha\_Burns@uml.edu

## **Faculty Senate Meeting**

Minutes

March 4, 2013

3:30 PM

Presiding: Michael Carter

Attendees: Gonca Altuger-Genc, Laura Barefield, Sarita Basil, Stephanie Block, Dorothy Brewin, Eve

Buzawa, James Carifio, Michael Carter, Janie Casello Bouges, Abigail Chandler, Shehong Chen, Timothy Cook, Adrian Cruz, James Egan, Michael Ellenbecker, Susan Faraji, Joseph Fisher, James Forest, Marie Frank, Clayton French, Michael Geiger, Robert Giles, Nancy Goodyear, Michael Graves, Christopher Hansen, Andrew Harris, Carol Hay, Ashleigh Hillier, Javier Horta, Ann Marie Hurley, Stephen Johnston, Russell Karl, Sue Kim, Daniel Klain, Ainat Koren, Erika Lewis, Benyuan Liu, Margaret Manion, Sanjeev Manohar, Garrett Michaelsen, Michael Millner, Keith Mitchell, Arthur Mittler, Ravi Montenegro, Martin Moser, Nese Orbey, Charles Ormsby, Robert Parkin, Geoffry PhillipsMcEnany, James Propp, Jialun Qin, Joshua Qian, Muhammad Quayes, Emmanuelle Reynaud, David Ryan, Michael Scribner-MacLean, Michael Shenoda, James Sherwood, Shellie Simons, Jana Sladkova, Meg Sobkowicz-Kline, Berk Talay, Stefanie Tate, Celeste Tremblay, Phitsamay Uy, James Veatch, Jie Wang, Jennifer Wilber, Alan Williams (for Timothy Crain), Thomas Wilson, Yu TzuYang

Recording: Martha Burns

The meeting convened at 3:37 PM.

- 1. Minutes of February 4, 2013 Faculty Senate Meeting, Attachment 1
  A change was made to the attendance. A motion was made to approve the minutes from the February 4, 2013 Faculty Senate Meeting. It was seconded and passed unanimously.
- 2. Report from Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees, (Professor Buzawa) Eve Buzawa provided a report on the winter sequence of meetings.
- 3. Spring 2013 Faculty Senate Election Guidelines, (Professor Carter)

Michael Carter provided an overview of the upcoming elections. The current slate of Senators was shown. Faculty Senators whose term ends in 2013 must be re-elected or replaced. Martha Burns will be sending out notices to Department Chairs.

The meeting adjourned at 4:55 PM.