University of Massachusetts Lowell Faculty Senate Minutes October 2, 2006 Alumni Hall

Presiding: Ann Marie Hurley, President Recording: Susan Yuhas

Attendees: Monty Carter, Sherre Strickland, James Jeffers, Michael Graves, Thomas Shea, Francis Bonner, Marina Ruths, Pradeep Kurup, Thomas Wilson, Nicole Champagne, Holly Yanco, Eve Buzawa, James Garreau, Liana Cheney, Judith Davidson, Anita Greenwood, Jay Simmons, Michael Carter, Oliver Ibe, Craig Armiento, Melissa Pennell, Anthony Szczesiul, Bodo Reinisch, Christoph Strobel, Richard Slapsys, Alan Doerr, Christopher Niezrecki, Robert Parkin, James Sherwood, Alex Case, Nick Tobin, Glenn Sundberg, Geoffry McEnany, Todd Hultman, Barbara Mawn, Erika Lewis, Joyce White, Partha Chowdhury, James Egan, Clayton French, Arthur Mittler, Aldo Crugnola, Dave Kazmer, Daniel Schmidt, Nick Schott, Aart Holtstag, Khanh Dinh, Andrew Hostetler, Jason Lawrence, Donald Milton, Rafael Moure-Eraso

Meeting commenced at 3:35 pm

- I. **Chancellor MacKenzie**: Introduced to Faculty Senate as interim chancellor for 6 months. Discussed search committee progress for new chancellor.
- II. Faculty Representative to Board of Trustees: Michael Carter
 - a. Recent trustee meeting- \$129 million capital expansion. 43% goal from state bonds, on target for 38% of total to borrow, 8.6% state appropriation. State has committed to 11% (18% capital projects in past). Goal for UML: 28-30% of total, hoping for state commitment.
 - Tenure decisions more documentation, changes are in works. Board of Trustees Romney appointed six new trustees on 9/28/06. Stephen Tocco appointed chair, controversial decision.

III. Standing Committees

- a. Academic Resources: Liana Cheney No resolutions. New members needed for committee
- b. Graduate Policy and Affairs (GPAC): Bodo Reinisch
 - Resolution: The Faculty Senate resolves that the College of Engineering be authorized to offer a college-wide D.Eng/Ph.D. program.
 MOTION CARRIES

Faculty Senate Minutes October 2, 2006, Page 2

- c. **Undergraduate Policy Committee**: Arthur Mittler No resolutions. New members needed for committee
- d. **Research and Development**: Tom Shea No resolutions. New members needed for committee
- IV. Minutes from May 1, 2006 were accepted.

Meeting adjourned at 4:00 pm