

University of Massachusetts Lowell
Office of the Faculty Senate
Alumni Hall, Room 101, One University Avenue
Lowell, Massachusetts 01854
Telephone: 978-934-3413

E-mail: Faculty Senate@uml.edu

Faculty Senate President: Michael J. Carter Telephone: 978-934-2794

E-mail: Michael Carter@uml.edu

Faculty Senate Administrator: Martha H. Burns Telephone: 978-934-4909

E-mail: Martha_Burns@uml.edu

Faculty Senate Meeting

Minutes

November 7, 2011

3:30 PM

Presiding: Michael Carter

Attendees: Doreen Arcus, Bryan Buchholz, Bridgette Budhlall, Eve Buzawa, Michael Carter, Nicole Champagne,

Abigail Chandler, Shehong Chen, Liana Cheney, Timothy Crain, Mitra Das, Alan Doerr, Lisa Edwards, James Egan, James Forest, Marie Frank, Stuart Freedman, Clayton French, Steven Freund, Jehanne Marie Gavarini, Ken Geiser, Nancy Goodyear, Michael Graves, Carol Hay, Charmaine Hickey (for David Lustick), Ann Marie Hurley, Stephen Johnston, Robert Karasek, Russell Karl, Sue Kim, Alexander Kheifets, Daniel Klain, Margaret Knight, Ainat Koren, Pradeep Kurup, Haim Levkowitz, Yan Luo, Margaret Manion, Dalila Megherbi, Michael Millner, Arthur Mittler, Martin Moser, Donna Mullin, Nese Orbey, Robert Parkin, Geoffry Phillips McEnany, Jialun Qin, JinHua Qian, Emmanuelle Reynaud, Marina Ruths, Charlotte Ryan, David Ryan, Thomas Shea, James

Sherwood, Jonathan Silverman, Jay Simmons, Shellie Simons, Jana Sladkova, Sherre Strickland (for Janie Casello Bouges), Stefanie Tate, Phitsamay Uy, James Veatch, Jie Wang, Thomas Wilson, Holly

Yanco

Absent: Todd Avery, Stephanie Block (for Ashleigh Hillier), Alexander Case, Cindy Chen, Cynthia Ferrara,

Joseph Fisher, Susan Gallagher, Robert Giles, Ashleigh Hillier, Sarah Kuhn, Erika Lewis, Xuejun Lu (for Martin Margala), Mufeed Mahd, Sanjeev Manohar, Ramaswamy Nagarajan, Miki Patterson, Paul

Song, Chronis Stamatiadis, Jin Xu, Yi Yang, Bruce Young

Recording: Martha Burns

The meeting convened at 3:37 PM.

1. Minutes of October 3, 2011 Faculty Senate Meeting

The list of Senators absent needs correction and it was noted that there is an extra "0" in the budget number under the Board of Trustees' Report. Ann Marie Hurley made a motion to accept revised minutes. It was seconded by Robert Parkin and passed unanimously.

2. GPAC, (Professor Sherwood)

- A. Environmental Studies, (Professors Barlow, Bruell, Eby, Lee), Attachments 2, 2a
 - To move the Atmospheric Sciences Concentration in the Master of Science in Environmental Studies degree from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering to the Department of Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences.
 - The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering would like to change the Environmental Engineering Sciences concentration from a concentration to an option under the MS program in Environmental Studies.
 - The Department of Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences would like to change the Atmospheric Sciences concentration from a concentration to an option under the MS program in Environmental Studies.

James Egan made a motion to accept changes brought forward by the Departments of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences. It was seconded by Ann Marie Hurley and passed unanimously.

- B. Proposal for Master of Science in Information Technology, (Professor Moloney)
 Alan Doerr made a motion to accept Proposal for a Master of Science in Information
 Technology. Ann Marie Hurley seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.
- 3. NEASC Process Overview and Tentative Timeline, (Vice Provost Mandell, Associate Dean Houde)

Vice Provost Mandell invited questions. She indicated that NEASC is voluntary because we are overseeing ourselves. The review process is not just about demonstrating accountability to stakeholders outside the campus, but also about creating a culture on campus committed to continuous improvement in student learning and success. NEASC has created a set of standards and asks recipients to respond to each standard. Vice Provost Mandell provided some definitive measures relative to the mission-driven standards. Associate Dean Houde spoke about the timeline. She indicated that NEASC wants each institution to look at areas which need improvement.

4. Other Business

Michael Carter announced that the Faculty Senate body and guests are invited to the celebration in Southwick Hall at 4:30 PM to celebrate 25 years of service by the Centers for Learning.

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 PM.