Memorandum

TO: Faculty and Librarians

FROM: J. Burke, Executive Secretary, Faculty Senate

DATE: May 3, 1999

RE: Minutes: May 3,1999 Faculty Senate Meeting

Organizational Meeting

The Faculty Senate Meeting was called to order on Monday, May 3, 1999 at 3:00 PM in O'Leary 222. The following Senators were in attendance:

John Catallozzi, Education; Juan Rodriguez, Education; James Sheff, Chemical & Nuclear Eng;Susan Faraji,Civil Eng;Ross Holmstrom,Electrical Eng;James Rome,Electrical Eng; Michael Fiddy, Electrical Eng; John McKelliget, Mechanical Eng; Robert Parkin, Mechanical Eng;Laura Punnett, Work Env; Susan Woskie, Work Env;Thomas Shea, Biological Science; Garth Hall, Biological Science; James Canning, Computer Science; Bodo Reinisch, Earth Science; James Graham-Eagle, Mathmatics; Ann Marie Hurley, Mathmatics; Alan Doerr, Mathmatics; George Chabot, Physics; James Egan, Physics; Art Mittler, Physics; Eugene Rogers, Clin Lab Science & Health; Robert Nicolosi, Clin Lab Science & Health; Nina Coppens, Nursing; Barbara Mawn, Nursing; Carole Pearce, Nursing; Sue Bergmeier, Physical Therapy; Sean Collins, Physical Therapy; Arno Minkkinen, Art; Paula Telesco, Music; David Hirschel, Criminal Justice; Michael Carter, Economics; Joe Zaitchik, English; Charles Ryan, English; Peter Blewett, History; Liana Cheney, History; Joeseph Garreau, Language; Russell Karl, Legal Studies; Chris Smith, Philosophy; Jeffrey Gerson, Political Science; Jon Hellstedt, Pyschology; Joeseph Waterman, Psychology; Dean Bergeron, RESD; Philip Moss, RESD; Daniel Egan, Sociolgy; Charles Feeney, Accounting; Sangphill Kim, Management & Marketing; Valerie Kijewski, Management & Marketing; Riaz Khan, MIS; Richard Slapsys, Library; Helen Jones, Library;

AGENDA

I. Approval of Senate Elections A list of Senate membership for the 1999-00 academic year was distributed with the materials for the meeting. Professor Nicolosi noted additions to the list since its publication. Senate President Nicolosi called for a motion to approve the election of Senators for 1999-00 Faculty Senate.

MOTION The Faculty Senate approves the election of Senators for the 1999-00 Faculty Senate.

The motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved.

II. Election of Officers. Forms for balloting were distributed to all Senators. Professor Nicolosi called for nominations for the office of President of the 1999-00 Faculty Senate. Professor Parkin was nominated. The nomination was seconded. Professor Punnett was

nominated. The nomination was seconded. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Each candidate made a brief presentation. Senators were asked to write the names of the nominees on their ballots and to place an X next to the candidate of their choice. Ballots were counted and tabulated. Professor Nicolosi announced that Professor Parkin was elected President of the Faculty Senate.

Professor Nicolosi called for nominations for the Office of Vice President of the 1999-00 Faculty Senate. Professor Alan Doerr was nominated. The nomination was seconded. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Senators were asked to record the name of the candidate on their ballots and to place an X next to the candidate of their choice. Ballots were collected and counted. Professor Nicolosi announced that Professor Doerr was elected Vice-President of the Faculty Senate.

ELECTION RESULTS

President Robert Parkin 30

Laura Punnett 20

Abstain 0

Vice President Alan Doerr 45

III. Nominations for Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees and Associate Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees. Professor Nicolosi reminded the Senate that as provided in the Senate By-Laws the Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees and the Associate Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees is nominated by the Senate and elected by the entire faculty. Before beginning the nomination process Professor Nicolosi called upon Professor Phelan the current Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees to comment on the position. Following Professor Phelan's comments Professor Nicolosi called for nominations. Professor Michael Carter was nominated for the position of Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Professor Juan Rodriguez was nominated for the position of Associate Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees. Professor Nicolosi informed the Senate that ballots will be mailed to all faculty by Wednesday May 5th. Ballots should be returned to the Senate office by Wednesday, May 19th. They will be counted on Thursday, May 27th at 9:00AM in the Senate office.

IV. Announcements Professor Nicolosi made the following announcements: (1) **Appointments to Senate Standing committees.** He reminded Senators that requests for appointments to Senate Standing Committees went out over a month ago and that all Senators were called to solicit their participation and assist them in the selection of an appropriate senate standing committee. Copies of the proposed committees were distributed with the mailing for the meeting. Please see Dr. Burke immediately after this meeting if an error has been made in your assignment. (2) Senate meeting dates. A handout listing dates for meetings for the Executive Committee and the full senate was distributed with the materials for the Senate meeting. Senators were reminded that the Senate meets the first Monday of the month when classes are in session beginning in October. The meeting was adjourned at 3:25PM.